Betty White gets Cold Feet!

what are they up to betty white Betty White gets Cold Feet!

What’s making Betty so nervous?  Click here to find out!

LOS ANGELES, Calif. —

If celebrities ever want insight on how to handle themselves with the media, they should look to 88-year-old Betty White. She’s been in the business longer than most of the people in this industry have been alive. Yet, the legendary comedienne/actress remains lovely, gracious, kind and hilariously self deprecating. It’s no wonder she is still as in demand today as she was during her “Golden Girls” heyday.

She’ll be hosting “Saturday Night Live” on May 8, but why is she scared? Plus, lots of fun tidbits about “Glee” straight from the stars. It’s all in today’s Dish!

Betty’s Bold Admission

“I’m scared!” That’s what Betty White told me yesterday about her upcoming hosting gig on “SNL.” “It’s very New York and I’m anything but New York,” Betty explained. “I kind of feel like a fish out of water, but we’ll just go and put one foot in front of the other!”

She initially told her agent “no” when he was approached with the idea after “SNL” creator Lorne Michaels found out about a grassroots Facebook campaign stumping for Betty. “I’m busy out here and all that. He said, ‘You have to do the show.’ Well, my agent says you have to do something [and I say,] ‘Yes sir, OK! I’ll do it.’”

Betty will get some help from some former cast members who have agreed to return for the special Mother’s Day episode, including Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Ana Gasteyer and Molly Shannon. “I’m thrilled that they’re having Tina Fey, Amy and Ana, but uh, it’s still… you’re not in a comfortable situation, and I understand it’s all cue cards. Well, I can’t work from cue cards. I have to memorize.”

Now this I can’t wait to see because, as many of us dedicated “SNL” watchers know, most of the celebrities rely heavily on those cue cards and we chuckle as we watch their eyes follow along during a sketch. It’s not an option for Betty. “I’ve always worked that way. Also, in order to read cue cards I have to put my glasses on,” she explained.

Betty will officially be the oldest person to ever host the long running sketch show. When I brought this up to her she joked, “I’m the oldest person to ever do anything!”

In other Betty TV news, the actress will co-star in a new sitcom for TV Land called “Hot in Cleveland” with Valerie Bertinelli (who just so happens to be running the Boston Marathon today), Wendie Malick and Jane Leeves premiering June 16. The show is about three 40 and 50-something women who ditch their lives in Los Angeles to try and find love in Cleveland. I watched the pilot and absolutely fell in love with this show! It reminded me of Betty’s old show, “Golden Girls.”

Comments

Leave a Reply

More From 103.3 WODS

70 Facts For Sir Paul's 70th Birthday
2012 Summer Concert Series Lineup
Are You a WODS Insider? Join Now!

Listen Live