Paul McCartney a Nervous Wreck While Recording New Album

Believe it or not, Paul McCartney still gets anxiety when making music. In fact, the former Beatles star was so nervous making his new album, Kisses On The Bottom, that he believed he was making a fool out of himself.

[photogallerylink id=47335 align=right]

The reason why he was so nervous is because he was adjusting to a new role. That is, for the first time in his career, Paul McCartney had to sing without playing an instrument.

Historically, McCartney has always played the guitar, bass, or piano with accompanying vocals. So when push came to shove and it was time to record Kisses On The Bottom, he felt like a fish out of water.

He said:

“Here was I in this completely new role, feeling really quite intimidated. There was nothing to hide behind, no guitar or piano that I could put between me and ‘it’. I had to sort of find a vocal style.”

McCartney continued:

“I’m in front of really good musicians, who know what’s going on, and I’m thinking, ‘Bloody hell, I’m going to totally disgrace myself here. I’m going to be, like, the worst person in this band, and I’m supposed to be, like, not bad. They’re all going to be smiling at me, but secretly thinking, [expletive], this guy is rubbish.’ Then I think, ‘Get it together, Macca, come on.’… So, yeah, me not having an instrument was very strange, very intimidating.”

Fans will have to wait and see whether that intimidation comes through on the album, which is due out February 7th.

Comments

Leave a Reply

More From 103.3 WODS

70 Facts For Sir Paul's 70th Birthday
2012 Summer Concert Series Lineup
Are You a WODS Insider? Join Now!

Listen Live