Paul McCartney In Denial About His Age

Sir Paul said in a recent interview that he can’t believe he’s turning 70 this year and would like to perform well into his 80’s.

[photogallerylink id=62138 align=right]

The former Beatle will be featured on the front cover of Rolling Stone’s March issue but excerpts of the interview are already available online.

McCartney reflected on his career and offers his plans for the future.

On retirement, McCartney said:

“I’m never going to believe I’m 70, I don’t care what you say. There’s a little cell in my brain that’s never going to believe that… You get the argument, ‘Make way for the young kids.’ And you think, ‘F–k that, let them make way for themselves. If they’re better than me, they’ll beat me.’ Foo Fighters don’t have a problem, they’re good. They’ll do their thing.”

He continued:

“If you’re enjoying it, why do something else? And what would you do? Well, a good answer is ‘Take more holidays,’ which is definitely on the cards, but I don’t seem to do that. I love what I do so much that I don’t really want to stop. I’m just kind of casually keeping an eye on how I feel, and onstage, it feels like it’s always felt. So for the time being, the band’s hot, I’m really enjoying myself, still singing like I sang, not experiencing, touch wood, any sort of problems to speak of. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

He certainly has the drive and determination to make it happen, but can Paul McCartney really perform into his 80’s?

McCartney on playing into his 80’s:

“I can imagine it. As to whether my imagination will come true, I don’t know. The last couple of years, I’ve gotten into guitar – so there’s all sorts of little things that crop up that entice you forward, and you go, ‘Hmm, I’d like that.'”

Off the top of my head, there hasn’t been many (or any) artists to still play with that edge and not skip a beat well into their twilight years.

But if anyone can do it, and do it well, it’s Paul McCartney.

Comments

Leave a Reply

More From 103.3 WODS

70 Facts For Sir Paul's 70th Birthday
2012 Summer Concert Series Lineup
Are You a WODS Insider? Join Now!

Listen Live