Todd Rundgren: Behind The Hits

Today, I take a look at song that was actually a reboot of the original.

[lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Todd Rundgren’s [/lastfm]only Top 5 single “Hello It’s Me” was a song he had recorded back in 1968 with his group Nazz.

According to Rundgren,

The original version was very dirgy, and I thought I’ll do something that sounds a little more contemporary. But it was just to kinda fill out the side. I wasn’t thinking, ‘Oh, great, this is going to be a single!’ It wasn’t the first single and I’m not sure it was the second single. But it was probably the biggest single off of Something, Anything. It kinda set me up for a career that I never took advantage of.

On the 1972 album Something/Anything, Rundgren had expected the single “I Saw The Light’ to be the big hit.

Performed on a tv special in 1973.

Comments

Leave a Reply

More From 103.3 WODS

70 Facts For Sir Paul's 70th Birthday
2012 Summer Concert Series Lineup
Are You a WODS Insider? Join Now!

Listen Live