5 Classic Hits For Dad On Father’s Day

Andrew Celani - WODS.com

5. John Lennon, “Beautiful Boy”

“Beautiful Boy” is quite literally a father’s lullaby to his son, made bittersweet by the fact that Lennon never got to see his own son grow up.

4. Harry Chapin, “Cats In The Cradle”

Off his 1974 Verities and Balderdash album, Harry Chapin’s “Cats In The Cradle” is a cautionary tale of a father’s busy life and the lack of free time he has available to spend with his son.

As he grows older, the father wishes to reconnect with his now-grownup son, only to find out that his son “Had grown up just like me // My boy was just like me.”

3. Eric Clapton, “My Father’s Eyes”

“My Father’s Eyes” is a song Clapton wrote after the tragic death of his 4-year-old son Conor, who fell from the 53rd-floor window of his mother’s friend’s apartment in New York City.

At the time, Eric Clapton said about the song, “It’s a very personal matter but I never met my father and I realized that the closest I ever came to looking into my father’s eyes was when I looked into my son’s eyes.”

2. Simon & Garfunkel, “Bridge Over Troubled Water”

On writing the song, Simon said, “I have no idea where it came from. It came all of the sudden. It was one of the most shocking moments in my songwriting career. I remember thinking, ‘This is considerably better than I usually write.'”

During the song, Art Garfunkel pledges to be by his son’s side through absolutely anything, a reason why we love our dads so much.

1. The Temptations, “Papa Was A Rolling Stone”

Another cautionary tale, this song highlights the plight of growing up without a father. For those who have had to go through this, you know how hard it is.

Join the conversation!

What’s your favorite “Dad” song?

Andrew Celani – WODS.com

Comments

Leave a Reply

More From 103.3 WODS

70 Facts For Sir Paul's 70th Birthday
2012 Summer Concert Series Lineup
Are You a WODS Insider? Join Now!

Listen Live