Never ones to turn down the chance to acknowledge their roots in the blues, the Rolling Stones have shared the stage with numerous legends. Next up: a double CD/DVD package featuring the Stones in a classic Chi-town performance with Muddy Waters.

Scheduled to release on July 10 via Eagle Rock, Muddy Waters & The Rolling Stones Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 is a completely remixed and remastered document of the Stones sharing the blues with one of their greatest influences (they named themselves after his song “Rollin’ Stone”).

The Waters/Stones performance took place on November 22, 1981 as the band were taking a night off from another of their big tours. Rolling into Chicago, Mick Jagger, Ron Wood, Keith Richards and keyboardist Ian Stewart dropped in on Muddy at his Checkerboard Lounge. Within minutes, the students were onstage with the Master, jamming with Muddy and his band to the delight of the lucky patrons .

Clocking in at 90 minutes, the never before seen (except for bootlegs) footage includes appearances by Buddy Guy and Junior Wells.

Check below for a list of tracks:

1) Sweet Little Angel
2) Flip Flop And Fly
3) Muddy Waters Introduction
4) You Donít Have To Go
5) Country Boy
6) Baby Please Donít Go
7) Hoochie Coochie Man
8) Long Distance Call
9) Mannish Boy
10) Got My Mojo Working
11) Next Time You See Me
12) One Eyed Woman
13) Baby Please Donít Go (Instrumental)
14) Blow Wind Blow
15) Champagne & Reefer

1) Introduction Instrumental
2) You Don’t Have To Go
3) Baby Please Don’t Go
4) Hoochie Coochie Man
5) Long Distance Call
6) Mannish Boy
7) Got My Mojo Working
8) Next Time You See Me
9) One Eyed Woman
10) Blow Wind Blow
11) Champagne & Reefer

–Michael Verity


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 103.3 WODS

70 Facts For Sir Paul's 70th Birthday
2012 Summer Concert Series Lineup
Are You a WODS Insider? Join Now!

Listen Live